The Asian Private Equity & Venture Capital Awards

12 November 2018 l Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

As the industry's premier information source, the Asian Venture Capital Journal tasks itself with highlighting the firms, professionals, investments, exits and fundraises that are a cut above the rest. We do this on a weekly basis in print and on an annual basis through our awards. As such, we are proud to introduce the 18th AVCJ Private Equity & Venture Capital Awards.

The Awards have become a mark of distinction in Asian private equity, and a showcase for first-class innovation, ingenuity, and performance. They are also unique in the region in how they are distributed - relying primarily on nominations and votes cast by Asia's entire private equity and venture capital community, but with contributions from a select panel of industry judges as well as the AVCJ Editorial Board. To be selected as a winner is to be truly acknowledged as preeminent.

For further information, please click here

2017 Winners


  • Fundraising of the Year – Venture Capital: LAV Biosciences Fund IV (Lilly Asia Ventures)
  • Fundraising of the Year – Mid Cap: Kedaara Capital Fund II (Kedaara Capital)
  • Fundraising of the Year – Large Cap: KKR Asian Fund III (KKR)
  • Deal of the Year – Early Stage Technology: Beijing SenseTime (CDH Investments/Dalian Wanda Group/IDG Capital)
  • Deal of the Year – Late Stage Technology: Ofo (Atomico/CITIC Private Equity/Coatue Management/Didi Chuxing/DST Global/Macrolink Group/Matrix Partners China)
  • Deal of the Year – Mid Cap: Press & Converting (VIG Partners)
  • Deal of the Year – Large Cap: Yingde Gases (PAG Asia Capital)
  • Exit of the Year – IPO: Au Small Finance Bank (ChrysCapital/IFC/Kedaara Capital/Warburg Pincus)
  • Exit of the Year – Mid Cap: Riraku (Advantage Partners)
  • Exit of the Year – Large Cap: Universal Studios Japan (Goldman Sachs/MBK Partners/Owl Creek Asset Management/PAG Asia Capital)
  • Venture Capital Professional of the Year: JP Gan & Nisa Leung (Qiming Venture Partners)
  • Private Equity Professional of the Year: Yichen Zhang (CITIC Capital)
  • Operational Value Add: Great Southern Rail (Allegro Funds)
  • Firm of the Year: KKR
  • AVCJ Special Achievement: Victor Fung
  • AVCJ 30th Anniversary Awards - Investment of the 1980s: Acer (H&Q Asia Pacific)
  • AVCJ 30th Anniversary Awards - Investment of the 1990s: Korea First Bank (Newbridge Capital)
  • AVCJ 30th Anniversary Awards - Investment of the 2000s: Oriental Brewery (Affinity Equity Partners/KKR)

Awards Sponsors